A New Beginning (again)


TWKM might know that today was my first day back to work since May. Those who didn’t know, I’ve been off work since May, I went back to work today.

I’ve actually written this blog entry earlier on my netbook, which promptly forgot what I wrote, but instead of giving up like a defeatist, I’m gonna write it afresh!

So… it’s been an exciting day, I woke up at 5:30 and refused to go back to sleep. I quickly realised that I need more American and Canadian friends to chat with during these rare days when I’m awake at such ungodly hours. Alas it goes against my challenge of incrementing my real life interaction with friends and people (not all my friends are people, oh no…).

I turned up 30 minutes early at work for a cuppa with my colleague Malcolm. I was then introduced to the lovely Janine at the newly opened cafe, and her soft spoken colleague Bicky or Becky (did I mention she’s soft spoken?) who explained to me why there were big cookie crumbs on a plate at the counter. Apparently customers have been rejecting the lesser portions of their morning confections which prompted the need for a dedicated dish. Of course Malcolm just picked a big crumb up and munched it before Bicky answered my question. He was still alive and well last time I saw him.

Hungry box in store-room living off old Xmas cards

Hungry box in store-room living off old X'mas cards

30 minutes later I was breaking out a sweat, limping (still recovering from badminton on Friday) between the up and downstairs store-rooms, moving shits in and out, optimizing the storage arrangement (and hence capacity), to accommodate more crap which will inevitably be shoved into the store room later.

It’s a task I had proven myself in the past to be very good at. In fact I was offered a job as Storage Arrangement Consultant by a Cadbury’s World Manager when he witnessed my ability to fit 100 donated Easter eggs of various box sizes into a single trolley earlier on in the year. I rejected the offer on the grounds that I’d likely have to account for constant missing stock and deal with the impending lawsuits.

Another 30 minutes later I was having my second and last cuppa with my other colleague, while hogging the fan’s airflow to ensure a less sticky version of me emerges. Gossips were not in abundance, but since there were no other colleagues present I was able to avoid earvedropping on shopping tips and Heat magazine columns.

My two hours was up before I knew it, and after a confrontation with a group of people who had been trying to unlock our fundraising storage room with their various keys; 3 rearrangements of the same 13 boxes of “The Lost Rabbit” story-books due to an implosion caused by the weak structural integraty of the box vs weight of the books they contain; and a delicious beef burger and chips meal in the staff canteen; I was sent home on my merry way minus my iPod, which was lost during one of the previous missions.

All in all, it’s been an emotional day, to be followed by an emotional goodbye dinner with my friend Colin who’s heading back to America this Thursday, after visiting the UK on a business trip. We had a traditional bangers a mash send off, something he explained he’d been struggling to find back in the States.

As we munched the posh-nosh bangers and mash at the Mash House, I recalled two things: it’s the 4th 3 meal days I’ve had in the last two weeks; and the 100 push-up challenge which I’d taken up earlier in the day, after a twitter invitation from Scribble and Gingell over the weekend. Colin seems more keen on doing sit-ups due to imminent increase in waist size – which was also on the site incidentally.

Basically, it’s a 6 weeks training program to help you get up to 100 consecutive push-ups. It’s actually rather good and upon reading I quickly realised the fundamental mistake I’ve been making in the past. Okay… actually the fundamental mistake in the past was that I got too lazy, but the other thing I did wrong when I got the rare motivation to do push-ups, was to start the first set of push ups by pushing myself to the limit. This training program basically reminds you not to push yourself to the limit till the 5th set, and all in all makes you do less consecutive push-ups in more sets, boosting your overall total and endurance.

I did the initial test yesterday and gave up at 23, could probably have pushed for 25-30 if my life had depended on it. So I’m starting on the week 3 program and managed 19 on the last set. Pretty happy about it, although looking at my target tomorrow… I’m not exactly excited!

Two things had inspired me over the last 3 days to blog about rather negative things. I’ve decided against it in the end but feel the need to at least express what’d happened.

  1. On Thursday I confronted some teenagers who were chasing down, and subsequently capturing a young seagull which was unable to take flight yet. They showed no remorse and told me to “Call a vet then.” when I expressed their animal cruelty. Unfortunately RSPCA couldn’t do shit especially after the kids left the park still holding the seagull in their arms. Nobody else in the entire park did anything other than giving the kids the evil eyes, and we wonder why kids don’t respect authorities these days?
  2. I bumped into a crying kid today in a busy shopping centre. He had obviously lost his mom and didn’t know what to do. Being a man, I was actually too worried about getting too close to the kid when asking where his mommy was… Luckily after talking to the boy, it finally raised more people’s awareness of the situation and a very lovely lady came forward to look after the kid while I looked for help. Best part was seeing the mom returning and having a tearful reunion with her son, before I managed to get help from security. Still… how could you lose a kid, and why did everyone just ignore the kid until someone else stepped up first?

Finally, I’ve come up with some new challenges and ideas for myself and the blog. The obvious challenge is the 100 push-up. Daily / Weekly update to follow. Another idea is that I’m going to compile a list of interesting links I’ve come across over the week here, links ranging from interesting youtube videos, music videos, artists, tips and odd articles. This will mean less random embedded links from here onwards, only genuinely relevant links will be inserted, like the 100 push up challenges one above :)

So all in all, it’s a new beginning to both my job, and this blog hopefully. I’ll end with a cliched Peace Out!

Weight: 8st 5.5lb

2 Responses

  1. I’m also going to go the 200 sit ups, but it might have to wait until I’ve finished the press ups first :-)

  2. I’ll stick with yoga :-P

Leave a Reply

